Three Softball Cups

Photo Credit: Rob Jelsma

Beginning the 21st of August European Softball will host three concurrent women’s competitions across Europe.

The Women’s European Premiere Cup, the Women’s Cup and the Cup Winner’s Cup all take place throughout the week. The fields of play have been determined by the 2016 season finishes for each federation’s league.

At the Premier Cup the national champions of the previous season play. The national champion is the winner of each individual country’s federation.

Women’s European Premiere Cup

This year’s Women’s European Premiere Cup is being held in Haarlem, Netherlands. Entry to all the games is free. The games will be hosted by two stadiums, Sparks Haarlem and Onze Gezellen. All games are available on livestream.

Participating in this year’s Cup will be championship teams from eight countries as well as the reigning European Champion.

Out of Netherlands both Sparks Haarlem and Terrasovogels will play. Sparks won the event in 2016. The Brasscaht Braves will represent Belgium. Representing the Czech Republic are Joudrs Praha who came in 2nd in last year’s competition. From Italy is Bussolengo Softball, who placed 4th last year, and Germany has sent newcomers the Mannheim Tornados. The undefeated Les Comanches, who placed 7th in the tournament last year, will appear for France. Rounding out the competition are Leksand softball for Sweden and the Therwil Flyers represent Switzerland.

Teams will play a single round robin with the top four advancing to semi-final matchups. There are no additional games for the final slots. The teams finish in order of the round robin standings.

Women’s Cup

The Women’s Cup is a qualifier for the Premier Cup. The top leagues across Europe play in the Premier Cup while the smaller leagues compete for their shot at advancement.

This year the Women’s European Cup will be held in Montegranaro, Italy. The six competing teams are: Prince Zagreb from Croatia, Apollo Bratislava of Slovakia, Russia’s Carrousel Bosco, Atletico San Sebastian out of Spain and the host team Montegranaro of Italy. Invited from Africa to round out the program is Titans Softball Club from Botswana.

Teams will play a single round robin with the top four teams participating in a semi-final matchup to follow.

Sant Boi, who finished 3rd in 2016, and Prince Zagreb, who finished 5th, are the only returning teams in this year’s competition.

Women’s European Cup Winner’s Cup

The final event of the week will be the women’s European Cup Winner’s Cup. Held in Caserta, Italy. In most countries across Europe, they have both a championship winner, the team that finishes first in the league, and a national cup winner.

This competition is where the national cup winners face off. If a country does not have a national cup, some will send their 2nd place team.

There are 12 teams in this year’s cup so the competitions have been divided into two groups. In Group A are: Olympia Haarlem (NL), Hoboken Pioneers (BEL), Eagles Praha (CZE), Sant Boi (ESP), BCF Paris (FRA) and Mediterraneo (MLT).

Group B consists of: DDS (NED), Forli (ITA), Zraloci Ledenice (CZE), Wessling Vermins (GER), Horsholm (DEN) and Hrabiny Wroclaw (POL).

Each group plays a single round robin. Teams ranked 1-3 in each group become the new single round robin C group. Teams ranked 1-4 in C then play a final series.

Last year’s winner, Olympia Haarlem, and the 9th place team, BCF Paris are the only return teams in this year’s competition.

#SoftballEurope #softball #lovesoftball #News #ソフトボール